Pet Painting #46 A Boy and His Lamb (tonal study)

 

boyandlambfinal
“A Boy and His Lamb” Acrylic on 11×14 canvas panel
boyandlamb
Original Image

Tone is more important than color.

Today I wanted to do a study in value and tone, so I found a black and white image and added my own color.  This was so much fun!  I think I might have to do it more often.

One of the most important skills to have as a painter is the ability to match tones.  Notice, I said tone, not color.  Color is different. Two different colors can have the same tone, and this is important, because it means that you can paint the same painting in different color schemes and achieve a very realistic painting as long as the tones match.

For more on this, you can visit http://www.artistnetwork.com and read this article.

Leave a comment