Pet Painting #41 revisited – Feline Family Portrait

 

“Feline Family Portrait” Acrylic on 12×12 canvas

This was the super secret surprise that I didn’t post a few days ago, but now that they have received it, so I can show you! Aren’t they adorable?

This painting was another mashup of several photo references. I had a lot from which to choose, so I tried to pick some that showed these beautiful cat’s faces really well.

If you’re wondering how I do these, I usually pick one photo that is my “base” reference. For this one, it was a photo of the two men standing together. This photo sets the tone for the rest of the painting because I have to match up the light source from this reference to all the others. If the light is coming from the top right of the photo, I try to pick reference photos of the cats that has a similar light source, or I just use **ART MAGIC!** to change the lighting by making darker areas lighter, and vice versa. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, and most of the time, I just hope no one can tell.

Leave a Reply

