Pet Painting #38 Jake and His Coat

jake
“Jake” Acrylics on 12×12 canvas

 Here is what Jake’s mom has to say about him-

“We lost Jake last month, and I would love for you to paint him. He was the most love able dog I have ever met! He wasn’t very old, but he had an old soul. He LOVED the coat he is wearing; I actually had a back up coat he could wear when I was washing one. . .I would look out the window and he would be chasing squirrels, running from tree to tree, with his coat on, of course.”

While painting this, I was thinking of Jake chasing squirrels in the afterlife, still wearing his stylish fur trimmed coat.

This week, I visited my local art supply store, Hartung Gallery in Portsmouth VA.  It’s a small family owned business, and they have a great selection and really good prices for such a small establishment.  

Sometimes, Mr. Hartung will get his hands on items from bigger stores that are closing down or getting rid of extra inventory, and he always sells them for a much lower price.  I found a set of Golden brand Open slow drying acrylics, and decided to give them a try.  

I LOVE THEM! 

If you happen to paint with acrylics, but like the work-ability of oils, these are the perfect middle ground.  I also purchased a Masterson sta-wet palette, and it’s another thing that I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to get.  The combination of the two makes using acrylics a lot easier and less wasteful.  

 

image
Masterson Sta-Wet Palette

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pet Painting #38 Jake and His Coat

Leave a Reply

